VAMPS Beast Party 2015 at Makuharikin (Chiba, Japan)

beast_party_XV (3)

First of all, this will be a post in two parts, as the good pictures are on the camera and other people’s phones, so you get a few ones to make up for it and there will be neat ones eventually.ETA: Decent pictures up Sept. 8th.

The VAMPS Beast Party is a yearly weekend event which is celebrated in different venues around the country and that are supposed to happen on the beach (I’ve been told sometimes the sea is a lake XD).

This year the event consisted on the goods and gaccha selling points, the ‘Meat festival’, a few games and body paint points, and a water stand, on top of the concert. The concert has three kind of tickets – fanclub (92000¥, divided in blocks A to D and randomly numerate as one ballots for them), general entry (92000¥ advanced, 97000¥ same day, also divided in blocks) and free ticket, watching the show from a screen.

92000¥ is a lot of money, even more when you want to attend both days. You’d expect things to go well, and smoothly and around. I had fanclub tickets that a Japanese acquaintance had gotten for me through someone else. Not good numbers, as one was around 7500 and the other almost 8000.

The guys entered in a… lifted platform kinda thingy, all Mad Max style, apparently. And shooting water guns. Hyde has too much fun with those. Once they are there, at. 17.30, everything is ready to start.

The concerts had three parts. The first one happens in the main stage, and on Saturday I missed it completely as I ended up in a blotch of sand, but I was not the only one. Block D in General was not good for seeing… Anything. The Japanese fans kept complaining that they could not see, and I understand that they were upset (even more I’ve heard reports about people on C block that could not enter on time as the block closed). I was not too thrilled, as I understood that I was too far away to see the artists, but at least I wanted to see a screen. Trying to do so, slowly creeping forward I ended up on the second row of the block during the Akamatsu solo, right in time for the acoustic part of the concert, which is carried out in the central stage. That made the situation improve (although apparently Hyde was floundering his butt in the first part and I am tremendously sad to have missed that).

After a prey a Capella song, Hyde managed to gain forgiveness for what he did to Evergreen in the Faith tour with a beautiful rendition of it both days. I’m glad I hanged in there and did not left when I really wanted to. From then it was okay as I could see the screen for the third part.

On the second day even if I entered later with a friend, I managed to see a bit of everything too. Mostly screen though, so I am left with the feeling that honestly it was not such a big deal. People in the free area could see much better than me for sure, as their screen was higher.

My overall impression with the whole thing is that it is a bit overrated. If you had good tickets, that’ great, but if not, it’s is going to weight on you and the sights you’re going to get. Other times there have been games and things to do, but apparently this time we were on a budget.

Don’t get me wrong, I had a lot of fun the moment I scored a food position. But many people behind me weren’t that lucky. I don’t delete having chosen the Beast party over the other two options I had been presented with – GreeeN concert in Odaiba a and Gackt’s Joetsu appearance as Uesugi Kenshin. Company was great, but we did not get to do much, just hang out, buy merchandise, greet people. Nothing too different from a normal lining.

Both days had special guests. On Saturday, Kiyoharu from SADS and on Sunday, Ken from L’Arc~en~Ciel. Poor Kiyoharu did not have much to do cause Hyde was in on-nom-nom spotlight mode, but Ken pulled one of his infamous ‘I come bearing gifts’ troll schemes, and everything was fine.

Some personal highlights:

  • Evergreen and The Jolly Roger
  • Saturday: during The Jolly Roger, Hyde moved around the stage without his mike to greet people. Suddenly he realised that he had left his mike on the stand and ‘hurried’ to pick it up. Not too easy with the yukata he was wearing.
  • Saturday: when a few droplets of rain fell, Hyde wrinkled his nose to the sky and it stopped raining.
  • Sunday: KAZ getting tongue tied trying to say “atatakata” (it was hot).
  • https://twitter.com/masa_misuzu/status/635531507247910916

  • Sunday: Hyde lost his hat and did not notice until the audience yelled at him
  • Managing all the gaccha!
  • beast_party_XV

  • Great company

Saturday 22 August 2015 Setlist

  1. I GOTTA KICK STAR’T NOW
  2. AHEAD
  3. HUNTING
  4. ANGEL TRIP
  5. TROUBLE
  6. COSMOS
  7. LOVE ADDICT
  8. HELLO
  9. Arimatsu drum mix solo
  10. 夏祭り (a Capella)
  11. EVERGREEN (acoustic)
    – MC: summer memories-
  12. THE JOLLY ROGER (acoustic)
  13. MY FIRST LAST (acoustic)
  14. ZERO
  15. DEVIL SIDE
  16. EVIL
  17. THE PAST
  18. GET AWAY
  19. MEMORIES
  20. Live Wire (with special guest: Kiyoharu)
  21. SANDY (with special guest: Kiyoharu)
  22. SEX BLOOD ROCK N’ ROLL

Sunday 23 August 2015 Setlist

  1. REVOLUTION II
  2. AHEAD
  3. HUNTING
  4. ANGEL TRIP
  5. TROUBLE
  6. SEASON’S CALL
  7. I GOTTA KICK START NOW
  8. HELLO
  9. Arimatsu drum mix solo
  10. 夏祭り (a Capella)
  11. EVERGREEN (acoustic)
    – MC: summer memories-
  12. THE JOLLY ROGER (acoustic)
  13. MY FIRST LAST (acoustic)
  14. ZERO
  15. DEVIL SIDE
  16. EVIL
  17. THE PAST
  18. GET AWAY
  19. MEMORIES
  20. LOVE ADDICT (with special guest: Ken)
  21. HONEY (with special guest: Ken)
  22. SEX BLOOD ROCK N’ ROLL

Final verdict: I don’t think I’d spend that kind of money again without knowing that I have got a decent ticket. Not seeing anything sucks, especially in a band like this one whose key factor is seeing Hyde being Hyde. But it turned out pretty well, so no regrets (only a minor sunburn…)

"The flag we know"

“The flag we know”

Accoustic, first day

Accoustic, first day

Left stage screen, second day

Left stage screen, second day

Accoustic, second day

Accoustic, second day

Logo (1st day, night)

Logo (1st day, night)

Ending fireworks

Ending fireworks

PS: half dead typing on the iPad. Sorry for any mistakes left through the read through.

About Sakaki Delijah

Instant Writer - Just add coffee!
This entry was posted in English, Showbiz-Entretenimiento, 日本国 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Reply - Comentar

